Lobster Laboratory

Welcome to my blog! I’ve enjoyed cooking so much that I’ve decided to document my successes and not so successful endeavors.

I thought it was fitting to start out with a recent cooking disaster. I decided to take on the challenge of cooking lobster. I had seen my mom cook lobster and figured it was as simple as putting them in boiling water. I was wrong.

My first mistake was having a conscious. As soon as I walked up to the Giant counter to buy those lobsters I started having second thoughts. But I was determined to cook them and make a nice dinner for Matt so I proceeded with the purchase anyways.

lobster

Instead of writing about how it turned out, I’ll let you watch for yourself. I thought Matt was taking photos, but alas, he recorded the whole ordeal.

Needless to say, we needed a bigger pot.

lobster2

The fun didn’t stop there though. I did not have the proper utensils for breaking the shell. We tried to be resourceful by using a hammer. It worked but it sure made a mess. Finally, it was time to sit down and eat. The result? Overcooked lobster that we picked at a little before calling it quits.

Now, my friends, the takeaways.

  • Don’t overcook the lobster. When the guy at the seafood counter says 8-10 minutes, he means 8-10 minutes.
  • Use a big pot. Otherwise, you’ll be stuck saying “You’re gonna need a bigger boat.”
  • Don’t let your boyfriend video your first time cooking lobster.
  • Be careful with boiling water. Matt came out of it with a few battle wounds in the form of some singed arm hair.
  • Look over the corn before buying it. Not only did my lobster not turn out so well, but the corn on the cob I purchased was not so fresh.

The bright spot? The cornbread tasted great.

In all seriousness, cooking lobster was a challenge and was certainly quite memorable. I’m glad Matt was sneaky and recorded the whole ordeal. You have to be able to laugh at yourself and see the humor when things don’t always go how you planned. Above all, this experience, video and all, is a great way to kick off my blog!

4 thoughts on “Lobster Laboratory

Leave a comment