Back to Basics

Cooking is blast, but let’s face it, there’s not always time to make an elaborate, ingredient heavy dish, especially during the week. By the time I go for a run, shower, and do some homework (I’m in American University’s Digital Media Skills Online Certificate program), I don’t always feel like making something too time consuming. Last night was one of those nights so I decided to keep it simple with some chicken and a salad.

I’ll forewarn everyone that most of my recipes come from Pinterest. I love all of the recipes on it and it’s fun to adapt them to your liking.

Simply Great Chicken
This recipe is from Food For a Hungry Soul. It’s three ingredients. Three! It can’t get more basic than that. I’ve made this several times and it tastes great as leftovers too.

Ingredients
Chicken (I use boneless, skinless breasts)
2 packets of 0.7 ounce Italian seasoning mix
1/2 cup brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 350°.

Mix the Italian seasoning and brown sugar together in a bowl. (The original recipe calls for one packet of Italian seasoning mix but I had five pretty decent sized chicken breasts to cook so I used two.)  One at a time put the chicken pieces in the bowl and cover both sides with the mixture. Place on a foil-lined tray or pan. I sprayed the pan with cooking spray as well. And…….you’re done! Put the pan in the oven and cook for 35 minutes. As I mentioned, my pieces of chicken were on the larger side so cook them for less time if your pieces are smaller.

While the chicken was baking I prepared my side dish. This is one of my favorites to make. It’s easy to make, colorful, and just tastes great.

Mediterranean Chickpea Salad from Dashing Dish

This is one of those dishes that can be easily altered to fit your preferences. I don’t really use specific measurements, but base it on how much of each ingredient I feel like putting in.

Ingredients
2 cans of chickpeas/garbanzo beans
1 medium can sliced black olives
Grape tomatoes
Red pepper
Red onion
Cucumber
Feta cheese
Dressing of your choice

ingedients

Whether you call them chickpeas or garbanzo beans, incorporate them into your diet.  They’re good for you. The common use for them is making hummus but they can be used in many more dishes. (Every time I hear the word ‘hummus’ I think about the movie Wanderlust. I couldn’t find a clip of the scene where Kathryn Hahn exaggerates the word ‘hummus’ but if you’ve seen it you’ll know what I’m talking about.)

Anyways, back to the recipe.

Drain the chickpeas and pour them into a bowl. Do the same with the sliced black olives. After that, proceed to cut up the vegetables into small pieces and put it all in the bowl with the chickpeas and black olives. Use as much or as little of each vegetable as you like. I tend to go heavier on the tomatoes and cucumbers and a little lighter on the red pepper and onion.

Give it a good mix once all the vegetables are in. Time for my favorite part – the cheese! I love it. My family loves it. I overuse it. But it’s hard to stop eating.

I’m quite generous with the feta. I pour a whole bunch in then mix it all up and you’re done. Pretty easy. I don’t add the dressing into the whole salad. I wait until I’m eating some and add it then. I prefer a light dressing like Ken’s Lite Caesar.

salad

Last night I ate the salad as a side dish with the chicken. I often bring it to work for lunch during the week. It’s filling but I don’t feel bogged down when I eat it.

The result is a dinner that’s not too filling and is easy to make.

Enjoy!

final

One thought on “Back to Basics

  1. Pingback: Greek Quinoa Salad | Metro Marinade

Leave a Reply

