Fresh from the Garden

My mom had rotator cuff surgery back in March. While I would probably curl up on the couch everyday complaining about the pain, she’s stayed busy. One of her activities has been gardening. My dad built her some garden boxes this past spring and she has planted quite an assortment of vegetables. I’ve been the beneficiary of this garden. There’s nothing better than fresh vegetables straight from a garden in the summer.

Last night I decided to eat the zucchini she had given me. I had gone for a run after work, had some homework to do, then a synchronous class so I wanted something quick and easy to make for dinner. Mom had suggested one way to cook the zucchini so I decided to give it a try.

This is an easy side dish to make but I decided to use both zucchinis and eat them as my entrée.

Instructions:
1. Cut the zucchini into strips length-wise.
2. Pour some olive oil in a frying pan and sauté the zucchini pieces.
3. Add some salt and pepper.
4. Once the pieces are done, move to a plate and add parmesan cheese.

zucchini

The cook time varies for the zucchini depending on how firm or soft you want your pieces. I like mine to be a little firm so I made sure not to overcook them. I let mine get a little brown on top as well.

Also, I might have used a bit too much olive oil so after removing the zucchini pieces from the pan, I placed them on some paper towel to remove the excess oil.

z2
That’s it! It’s an easy dish to make when you’re short on time and want something easy to make. I’m definitely looking forward to making more dishes with vegetables from Mom’s garden.

Leave a Reply

