Cinnamon and Sugar

The other day I was craving something sweet. I have a big sweet tooth but I’ve cut down on how much of them I eat.  I decided to indulge though and bake a dessert. I chose snickerdoodle bars, as I hadn’t made them in quite a while. My cutting back on sweets has also meant Matt cutting back on sweets so he was quite thrilled when I mentioned what I would be baking.

Snickerdoodle Bars
(from My Own Sweet Thyme)

Ingredients

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups packed brown sugar
1 cup butter, at room temperature
2 eggs, at room temperature
1 Tablespoon vanilla
2 Tablespoons granulated sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

I don’t always read through the instructions carefully when I’m initially looking at a recipe. The result is messing up what size bowl for what ingredients. Matt and I live in an apartment so we don’t have enough space in our kitchen to keep multiple bowls of every size. In the past I’ve used one bowl, only to find out I needed that size for a different step in the recipe. My tip is to figure out which bowls you’ll need for the different steps. If the majority of your ingredients go into one bowl, you’ll probably need a big one. Or, if all of your ingredients will be combined in one bowl by the end, as is the case with this one, save your big bowl for that.

For the snickerdoodle bars you’ll need a small, medium, and large bowl.

Instructions

1. Preheat your oven to 350° and grease a 9×13 inch baking pan.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt.

1

3. In a large bowl, beat together the butter, brown sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Beat until smooth.

2

I’m still using a hand mixer Mom passed down to me. Quite a while ago she upgraded to a KitchenAid mixer. I would absolutely love to have a KitchenAid but it would take up too much room on our counter. Not to mention the hefty price tag for one.

3

4. Once the mixture is smooth, add in the flour mixture a little at a time while blending and blend until smooth. I also like to add in some cinnamon and give it another blend so you can taste it throughout.

5. Once your done blending, spread it in your pan.

6. In a small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon. As I often do, I added a bit more cinnamon than the recipe calls for.  Sprinkle it evenly on top of the batter in your baking dish.

4

7. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

5

I will warn you that the bars are a little heavy so I would cut them into small pieces. While I should let them cool longer, I am always too anxious to eat one, especially when they’re warm and gooey.

6

Leave a Reply

