Reese’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookie Bars

On Sunday Matt and I went to our friends’ house for a birthday shindig and to watch some football. I personally enjoy something sweet on my birthday so I decided to bake Reese’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookie Bars. Let me break it down for you – chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, AND Reese’s pieces. Chocolate and peanut butter are two of my favorite foods to mix together so I didn’t think twice about whether or not to go with this recipe.

I essentially followed the recipe from For the Love of Food. The biggest modification was that I made cookie bars instead of cookies. The recipe yields 70-80 cookies. Who has time to scoop out 70-80 cookie dough balls?! Not me. The day before Matt and I were in Baltimore for the University of Maryland (4-0 so far!) football game so I wanted something easy I could bake the morning of. I often bake cookie bars instead of individual cookies when I use a cookie recipe. My mom always does this and it makes perfect sense. It’s much easier and a huge time saver.

So, back to the deliciousness that is chocolate and peanut butter together.

Ingredients
2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (3.4 ounce) box instant vanilla pudding
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon honey
1 cup milk chocolate chips
1 cup Reese’s Pieces candy
1 cup peanut butter chips

Directions

      1. Preheat the oven to 350°
      2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt and pudding and set it aside.
        Reeses1
      3. In a large bowl, beat together the butter, peanut butter, sugar and brown sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 to 4 minutes. As with cheese, I like a little extra in my food so I probably added close to a cup of peanut butter instead of ¾.Reeses2
      4. Add in the eggs until combined
      5. Add the vanilla extract and honey until combined.Reeses3
      6. Add the flour mixture in a little at a time, beating after each addition, until it’s all mixed in.
      7. Now for the fun! Add in the chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, and Reese’s pieces until they’re evenly distributed throughout the dough. As with the peanut butter, I added as much of each as I wanted. I did not measure out how much of each I put in.Reeses5

        How delicious does this look!

        How delicious does this look!

      8. Spread the dough into a greased 9×13 pan. Use your hands if necessary. I found that this was the easiest way to even out the dough in the pan. If you have a pan that’s a little larger than 9×13 you may want to use this as well. The cookie bars are a little dense so it helps to reduce the thickness of them by using a larger pan.Reeses7
      9. Bake for 30-40 minutes.
      10. As tough as this may be, try to let them cool before cutting into them.Reeses8

The cookie bars were a hit at the party. They were soft and every bite was a combination of chocolate and peanut butter. The Reese’s pieces also give them a nice fall color. When Matt and I left there were very few remaining in the pan. I tend to think the remaining ones did not survive as there were still quite a few people at the get together.

Just for fun- Matt and I before the Maryland game.

Just for fun- Matt and I before the Maryland game.

One thought on “Reese’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookie Bars

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip | Metro Marinade

Leave a Reply

