Chipotle Lime Shrimp

The only introduction needed for this dish is Matt’s comment to me last night – “Since we’ve started dating, this is in my top 3 dishes that you’ve made.” He loves it. I hadn’t made it for quite a while so Matt could hardly wait to get his hands on it last night. (Fitness, I know you can vouch for this dish too.)

I first made this dish last year and was surprised by how easy and flavorful it is. It’s a perfect combination of sweet and spicy. I took it to a Maryland tailgate last year and I think every single shrimp was eaten. So thank you to Gimme Some Oven for this amazing recipe.

Ingredients
2 pounds shrimp, peeled and deveined
6 Tbsp olive oil
6 Tbsp brown sugar
5 tsp cumin
2-3 tsp chipotle powder
2-3 Tbsp lime juice
Cilantro, chopped

5

3

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350 °.

2. Mix the olive oil, brown sugar, cumin, chipotle powder, lime juice, and cilantro in a bowl. The original recipe calls for fresh squeezed lime juice and fresh cilantro. I had neither so I used lime juice I already have and some dried, pre-chopped cilantro I keep in the spice cabinet.

1

2

2. Add in the shrimp. Make sure they’re coated in the sauce. Let them marinate for about 20 minutes.

4

3. After marinating, place the shrimp in a 13×9 inch baking dish. Bake for roughly 15-20 minutes, or until shrimp are no longer pink.

7

I prefer cooking the shrimp in the oven. You can also grill them, as the original recipe suggests. It was pouring out last night though so this was much easier.

9

10

This recipe is extremely versatile. As I mentioned, it was pouring last night so I did not feel like going to the store. Luckily I had a box of Spanish rice in the cupboard that paired very well with the shrimp.

11

It definitely has a good kick to it so if you prefer it to be less spicy, use less chipotle powder. And experiment with the amounts. Since I bake the shrimp I like having extra marinade in the baking dish for the shrimp to sit in while cooking. If you’re grilling them, you could make less of it.

Now two pounds may seem like a lot of shrimp for two people but there were very few left when we were done. I was pleasantly surprised by how well the rice went with it. I didn’t eat as much of it though as I would have liked because it was a tad too spicy for me. Next time I’ll knock the heat down a little bit.

Regardless, I can’t say enough how much I recommend this dish. It’s extremely simple to make and has great flavor. Try it and you won’t regret it!

4 thoughts on “Chipotle Lime Shrimp

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip | Metro Marinade

  2. Pingback: Italian Shrimp | Metro Marinade

Leave a Reply

