Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip

Saturday was University of Maryland’s homecoming game versus Clemson and a large group of us tailgated for it. In honor of homecoming I prepared several dishes: Reese’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookie Bars, Chipotle Lime Shrimp, and Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip. By the time we left, every last bite of each dish had been eaten. (Note to self: Make sure you get to eat a little of the food you brought. I wasn’t by the food table much and when I finally went over all the dip had been eaten and there was one cookie bar left. No complaints though! I’m always happy when there are no leftovers.)

This dip is always a hit! There’s rarely any leftover when I make it. This is also a dish you can easily make the day of your party/activity/get-together. It only takes about 10 minutes to combine all of the ingredients so it was very easy on Saturday morning to mix everything up and then finish getting ready for tailgating while it cooked.

Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip is also a dish that I’ve made so many times that I have the recipe memorized. It’s a go-to recipe when I need to make something and am short on time.

Ingredients
2-3 12.5oz cans of canned chicken
1 3 oz. package of cream cheese
8 oz. blue cheese dressing
8-12 oz. of hot wing sauce (like Frank’s Red Hot)
3 cups shredded cheddar cheese

1


Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350°.

2. Dump the chicken into an 9x9in dish. (You could use an 8x8in dish but then the dip comes right up to the edge. The bigger dish gives you more room and less of a chance of spilling it.) Be sure to drain the chicken first and rinse it with some water. I will admit that this step is my least favorite. I really dislike the smell of canned chicken so I complete this step as quickly as possible. And by holding my breath.

2

3. Add in the dressing. I prefer using blue cheese but you can also use ranch, which I did this time.

4. Add in the hot sauce. The amount to add depends on how much of a kick you like. I usually use 10-12 oz. of the hot sauce.

3

5. Cut the cream cheese into small cubes before adding it to the dish. This helps it melt down quicker.

4

 

6. Mix in 2-2.5 cups of shredded cheese. After mixing, I like to add a layer on top.

5

7. Bake for 35 – 40 minutes. I often use a foil pan so it can be thrown out when empty. Because of this, I suggest placing the dish on a small cookie sheet for some stability when removing it from the oven. You definitely don’t want to dump this delicious dip all over your oven.

6

Easy as that! This is also a one-dish dip. No extra bowls are needed. And if you’re like me, I’m always happy to have one less dish to wash.

7

 

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip

  1. Pingback: Pigs in a Blanket | Metro Marinade

Leave a Reply

