Apple Cider Mini Donuts

It’s quite ridiculous how much I’ve been slacking on my blog. It’s time to change that and start posting consistently again. Now I won’t call it a New Year’s resolution to post more because let’s face it, it’s almost February. I have been cooking and baking over the past few months but I’ve either forgotten to take photos along the way or just decided not to blog about it. So, to kick off my blog (again), let’s start with a sweet I made multiple times over the holidays – Apple Cider Mini Donuts. I absolutely loved these from the first time I made them. The original recipe comes from Feastie, and I was very excited to see that the author mentions Butler’s Orchard and their apple cider donuts. Matt’s known the family since he was young and took me up there a few years ago. We get our pumpkins there for Halloween and my parents love their pies. You can also pick your own fruit. So a huge shout out to them! You guys rock.

I also have to give a huge shout out to my grandma. In the fall she sent me her KitchenAid mixer because she doesn’t use it much. Excuse the cliché but I felt like a kid at Christmas. A mixer was going to be on my Christmas list but this was even better. I could hardly contain my excitement when it arrived. And, these mini donuts were the first recipe I used the mixer for. Thank you Grandma!

10

I like the simplicity of this recipe and it yields quite a few donuts. It’s essentially mixing together the dry ingredients, mixing the wet ingredients, then combining them. You’ll notice they aren’t shaped quite like donut holes, but that’s because I used a mini muffin pan. You can use either type of pan.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup apple butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup apple cider
  • 1/3 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil (You can use canola oil too. The original recipe calls for it but I didn’t have any.)
  • canola cooking spray
  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon

Instructions

1. Preheat the oven to 400°.

1

2. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.

2

3. In a separate bowl whisk together the egg, brown sugar, apple butter, vanilla extract, honey, apple cider, yogurt, and canola oil. It took several tries to get this down but there was not enough cider taste when I first made the donuts. To help with this, pour the cider into a pan on the stove and boil it down a bit before adding it in. Be sure and had more than the 1/3 cup it calls for since it will boil down.This helps to heighten the taste.

3

4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredient mixture and whisk until just incorporated. It’s okay to have a few lumps as you don’t want to overmix.

4

5

5. Using a tablespoon or cookie scoop, fill your muffin pan with the batter. Only fill each hole about 3/4 of the way.

6

6. Bake the donuts for 10-12 minutes.

7. While the donuts cool a bit, melt the butter and then in a separate bowl mix together the cinnamon and sugar.

8. Brush the top of the donuts with some butter then roll them in the cinnamon and sugar mix. During the holidays I added red and green sugar into the mix as well.

7

The donuts taste best when they’re warm but taste great the next day as well when they are cool.

8

9

One thought on “Apple Cider Mini Donuts

Leave a Reply

